Finishing the Race
![]() |
| Crowds starting to gather |
![]() |
| Here they come |
| Copley Square Memorial |
![]() |
| Crowds starting to gather |
![]() |
| Here they come |
| Copley Square Memorial |
Labels: Boston Marathon, Running, supporting
This is really hard.
We heard the news at around 3pm. Driving home from Natick, where we'd been at a BBQ with Paul's coworkers. Because this is how it is on Marathon Monday, you go to watch the race, you drink beers and watch the kids play in the sunshine, you talk about your own training with other runners. I stopped Paul mid-sentence to turn the radio up - I thought they'd said something about explosions at the finish. They switched the story back to the race winners. I started crying. Paul tried to calm me, reminding me that we didn't know any details yet. I tried to find details online, but boston.com was timing out, nothing had hit FB yet, then the first reports started coming through on twitter. The radio stopped trying to cover the race, and instead covered the blasts.
I spent the rest of the afternoon trying to soak up any detail, but also not trusting what the media was reporting (when they can't google Patriots' Day, I had little hope they were getting the rest of the information right), tracking down friends, alerting my family that I was physically safe. But mostly I just felt devastated, and bad for feeling so upset and stupid for thinking this could never happen here. And I cried.
I felt like didn't have the right to be so sad. Boston is my home town now, but I've never actually run the Boston Marathon. I didn't know any one injured, dismembered or killed. How can I show up to work having tossed and turned all night, eyes swollen?
This is my community. The Boston Marathon is the holiest of our holidays. It is one of the very best things the city does. It's a shining example of human triumph - not just the runners, but certainly them too. The hours trained, the records broken, the hundreds of thousands of dollars earned for charity, the precision of measuring and timing the course, of checking and double-checking every elite water bottle to insure that it is placed and spaced correctly on the table. Boston has thousands of volunteers. This year they turned away volunteers. They have a volunteer loyalty program (and I assure you most people are not in it for the jacket). The Marathon is just pure joy. It is uncompromisingly good.
Of course, it would be a target. How could I have been so naive as to think that evil would never try to mar the goodness that is the marathon? Why can't we have nice things? I have no doubt the Marathon will go on, but it will never be the same. The specter of this year will hang over it for decades to come.
I wish that I could feel defiant or angry toward the perpetrators, or awed and amazed at the people who raced to the scene, but for now I just feel hollowed out.
I am so thankful to my friends for reaching out from places and phases of life, near and far. It means a lot to feel less alone in this tragedy.
Labels: Boston Marathon
![]() |
| R and me, pre race |
![]() |
| Corral 6 at the start |
![]() |
| Heading to the finish |
![]() |
| All done |
Labels: Marathon, race report, Rock 'n' Roll, Running
Four days to go.
I swear my heart skipped a beat when I saw the "Final Instructions and Important Race Information" email in my inbox this morning.
Here's what I know as far as spectator information goes:
![]() | ||
| The starting chute: That's two blocks of corrals! |
Labels: Marathon, Plan, Rock 'n' Roll, Running
Yesterday, in recognition of meeting a major milestone at work, my team went indoor skydiving. This was awesome. Basically it's a giant tube of wind. You enter it from the second floor onto a net surface, and then the tube soars up another 2-ish stories. The ride is only 2 minutes or so, but it is amazing. There's very little sense of falling, you're just floating. Floating and having an obscene amount of air blown up your nose.
Labels: indoor skydiving
Three weeks from yesterday, I'll be toeing the line at my first marathon.
I was talking to another runner over Christmas break. He mentioned that he was trying to minimize all of the trappings that come with running that are not running. He wanted a running experience that was pure: no mental energy spent on the sport outside of the run itself. This “naked running” ideal, where all you need are your feet and a desire to run, sounds so zen. To run for the sake of running, without pace, without plan, without distraction is this almost holy pursuit.
And when I compare that ideal to my running, my watch, my hydration belt, my mapmyrun routes, my trainingpeaks evaluations, it feels like my training is missing the point. Shouldn’t I just run for the love of running?
At the time, I said I didn’t think my goals could be met with that sort of training. But what I felt was that my running was inferior to the naked run. But the more I’ve thought about it, the more I realize that, for me, part of the joy of running is the accoutrement. It’s the planning. It’s the evaluation. It’s executing the details perfectly for the optimal training.
If you don’t read Mother Running Rampant, you must. I LOVE her blog. She is a far better runner and writer than I am. Last week, she posted about being less ambitious in her running and how that’s counter to her experience:
My intrinsic love of this sport is shrink-wrapped in minutes, seconds, and that lovely little colon in between them. I’ve tried taking off the wrapping, but as when removing food packaging, that just makes my insides start to turn.
Labels: Running
2012 has been a huge year: getting married, getting a PR at Nationals and again at Lobsterman, starting a new job, twice!
I also topped 700 miles of running this year, despite 10 weeks of not running with the stress fracture. 722 miles to be exact. That's over double the distance I did in 2011. Woohoo.
![]() |
| This year's HR distribution |
![]() |
| Last year's HR distribution |
Labels: Chilly Half Marathon, race report
Talking with a friend the other day, he mentioned making a placard as a kid out of poster board and yardstick. I realized, I don't own a yard stick, and I asked: neither he nor his girl friend owned a yardstick. Does any one own a yardstick any more? Maybe if you sew? Why did this seeming ubiquitous item just disappear from households?
This weekend's Chilly is the same course and very similar conditions to last year. It's a figurative yardstick for performance gains in the last year.
Last year, I exceeded my goals by 2 minutes, improving 6 minutes over my previous PR. This year's goal is a further 4 minutes improvement. The plan is to take off at a 7:20, then be governed by HR for the remaining 12 miles. I should know by mile 3 if I'm gonna hit 1:36 or not. I will need to be able to run faster at a lower HR than I did at the Devil's Chase. I've had a good taper this week, and low resting HRs, so I'm hopeful this is possible.
I'm looking forward to the race. It's been a sorta crazy week at work, so I haven't focused much on it. But I have hit my workouts, eaten well (even without the cheese), slept pretty well and had nice low resting heart rates all week, so fingers crossed that all equates to a speedy new PR.
Labels: Chilly Half Marathon, Plan
Labels: noms
Maybe it's the cabin fever.
Maybe it's the rest day today.
Maybe it's the fact that registration fees increase by $30 on Wednesday.
Regardless, I am officially signed up. Hopefully, DC will have recovered from Sandy by then.
Well, that was... a bit disappointing. 28 seconds slower than last year. The plan was to run the first 4.5 miles at a hard pace, then increase to very hard and very very hard for the last 2 miles. I stuck to the plan, but somehow my hard heart rate translated to a 7:44 pace. This pace felt a little slow. And I spent those miles watching the competition pass me by, hoping that my increased effort at the end of the race would allow me to catch back up.
At 4.5, I kicked it up a gear and finally felt like I was moving. I passed the 5 or 6 people who had passed me in the last mile. Then I set my sights on a woman who had started with me, but left me in the dust when I tried to maintain my effort level in the first mile. I slowly reeled her in, and in the last half a mile, I passed 4 more women, so that felt good.
The end results are that with a slightly slower finish, I had an 8th place in age group (versus 6th last year) out of 272. I can't really be disappointed about coming in the top 3% of my age group, even if it wasn't the performance I'd hoped for. This wasn't an A race, and I didn't have A race preparation, taper or mentality going into it. Having a solid race should be a good result. My bigger concern is that I have an aggressive goal for the Chilly half of a 7:20 pace. Averaging 7:29 here does not build confidence.
Much more exciting (and less sulky): my friend A had a stellar race! She improved her time by nearly 3 minutes. That's almost 30 seconds per mile. She hit her goal and really raced out there today. So happy for her.
Labels: Devils Chase, race report, Running
Labels: Devils Chase, Marathon, Plan, Running
As the storms rolled in on Friday night, I was reminded of Quassy. Going into that race, I was completely unfazed, but during the actual ride, I was hating it. With Duxbury, there wasn't a lot riding on the race, so I actually considered pulling out of the race.
My logic on Friday night, however, was that every other athlete was thinking the same thing, and maybe the fast ladies wouldn't show up, so I was in. Unfortunately, where this logic fails is that the other fast ladies came to the same conclusion as I did. When I arrived at the race on Saturday morning, there were some very fast looking bikes making their way through the puddles to transition.
And puddles there were. The road out to transition had puddles about 8 inches deep. Transition itself was in a paved parking lot, and my transition area in particular was in a puddle about 3/4" deep. Try as I might to set down plastic bags to provide a dry spot for shoes and towel, it was not going to happen. Everything got wet.
As I finished setting up transition, the rain stopped, but the wind started. I put on my wetsuit and went to hang out in the registration tent to keep warm. When it was finally time to head down to the water, I huddled up on the shore, shivering, waiting for my wave. I seriously considered pulling out of the race right then. I don't think I've ever come so close. But it occurred to me that I'd just have to wait until the swimmers were all in to get my bike out of transition, might as well race.
The strange part was though, as soon as the my wave started, all those doubts evaporated. I was racing, and I loved it. The swim was rough and choppy, but so much fun. Wasn't my best swim, came out 4th in my AG, but still just fun.
I took a bit of extra time in transition to put on a jacket, and I'm so glad I did. Then, just as I was about to mount my bike, another athlete rode her bike right into me. I still don't understand how that happened. She apologized profusely, but I just stared at her bewildered. My bike and I were fine. And then neglected to hit the button on my watch, so my data showed a 43 minute transition, followed by a 3 second bike.
On the run, I stuck to the plan, I was chasing a girl who came out of transition just ahead of me. She kept her distance for the first mile, but then I slowly started to reel her in, and made the pass on the back half of the course. My run came in at 21:45, a new PR for the distance.
Overall 10 seconds slower than two years ago (with a different swim) and only good enough for 4th place on the day.
Looking at my season this year versus last year, the clear improvement has been my running, which I think is a combination of better pacing on the swim and the bike, and just sheer leg speed.
Here's what my percentile rank in AG looked like in 2011:
Labels: Duxbury, race report, Sprint, triathlon
Labels: bachelorette, triathlon, Wedding
Fall arrived last weekend, and it's feeling cooler and crisper, but triathlon season is not over, quite yet.
Duxbury beach sprint triathlon is this weekend. I did it two years ago. In fact, I won my age group two years ago, so I'm looking forward to tackling the course again. This year, with the tides, the swim isn't the spectator-friendly, along-the-bridge swim. Instead, it's a simple triangle. Otherwise, the course is the same.
As a fast, flat, short course, I'm looking to go out hard and leave nothing in the tank. Not much else to the strategy, just get faster with every step of the race, and hopefully, regain my title.
6am - somewhere between Boston and Freeport
"So, what time is your wave?" - J
"Uh, no clue." - meYeah, so this was easily the least prepared for a race that I've been all season.
Labels: Lobsterman, Olympic distance, race report, triathlon
Lobsterman is tomorrow. I am completely unprepared. And I don't care.
I have a few posts that I owe you: a bachelorette party post and a wedding post. But right now, I'm exhausted. My motivation to do just about anything, save looking at wedding photos, is zero.
The wedding was amazing and joyous. It was so much more than I ever could have hoped for. But it was also just incredibly draining. Planning the wedding felt like death by a thousand cuts. My brain seems to be protesting organizing anything at this point. We took a few days off after the wedding, but I feel like I could have used a few more. Motivating myself feels like pushing on a deflated balloon: I just bulge out to the sides, but very little movement actually occurs.
Which brings us to Lobsterman. It's my last olympic distance race of the season. I signed up for it thinking that there was a good chance I wouldn't want to race the weekend after my wedding. But as I was riding high on the post-wedding, good feelings, I decided I should go for it. I had originally thought that I might be able to post a new PR tomorrow. Lobsterman was the site of my PR from last year. And damn it, if I still don't want to shave those 10 seconds off my time to get down to sub-2:35. But I fear that, at present, I lack the ferocity necessary to go out hard and red line the run. Hell, I don't even have stretchy laces in my running shoes at the moment.
Thus, the plan for tomorrow is to just go out and have fun. I love racing. There's no pressure on this one.
I leave you with one of my favorite picts from the wedding. I have no idea what Paul said that was so funny, but I just love how happy we are. That's how it felt the whole day.
Labels: Lobsterman, Paul, Plan, Wedding
![]() |
| Panoramic shot of the swim course |
![]() |
| Pre-race with my honey |
![]() |
| GPS of my swim |
![]() |
| Run course elevation |
![]() |
| On the way out to the run |
![]() |
| Sprinting to the finish |
![]() |
| Post race with my honey |
Labels: AGNC, race report, triathlon
© Blogger template 'Solitude' by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008 | Photo by Jaredflo
Back to TOP